2021 Ledgestone Insurance Open MPO Round Four Recap

Monday, August 9, 2021

Who won the 2021 Ledgestone Insurance Open?

Tied 1stRicky Wysocki and Calvin Heimburg at 17-under par
3rdEagle McMahon at 16-under par

What happened in Round Four of the 2021 Ledgestone Insurance Open?

Reports of nearby lightning at 3:59 p.m. Central Time halted play. Continuous storms rolled through Eureka, Illinois and play never resumed, resulting in a termination of the final round. The results after Round Three were declared final.

What was the situation before the cancellation?

Seven players entered the fourth round within five strokes of the lead. With the out-of-bounds-laced fairways of the Eureka Temp course, it was still anyone’s game. 

Heimburg, Wysocki and McMahon made statements on the first hole as they each dropped in a stress-free birdie. It looked like all three were locked in and ready for a final round battle.

But all three slipped up on hole 2. Wysocki’s drive left him out of position for birdie, Heimburg missed a 20-foot putt for his birdie and McMahon carded a bogey.

On the next hole, a 260-foot par 3, Wysocki kicked OB and scored a bogey. Heimburg followed suit. McMahon also found another bogey of his own.

As the three front runners were tapping in their bogeys on hole 3, Kyle Klein was lining up a birdie from just outside Circle 1 on hole 5. Klein’s putt would sneak in the left side of the basket, giving him a 5-under par start through the first five holes and rocketing him all the way into sole possession of first place.

But less than five minutes later, the ominous blasts of an air horn rang across Eureka Lake Park. Lightning had been spotted and the course was cleared for safety.

After hours of deliberation, the weather finally started to clear, but by that point there was too little daylight to continue. The final round had to be called. 

It was as if no one had even played a hole in Round 4. Klein’s smoking hot start vanished. Wysocki and Heimburg’s blown leads were erased. McMahon’s early struggles were gone. And Andrew Marwede and Drew Gibson, both of whom started the day in fourth but had fallen off the pace early, reclaimed their fourth-place spots.

Ultimately, Heimburg and Wysocki were named co-champions as the 2021 Ledgestone Insurance Open came to a conclusion.

Ledgestone News
Twelve Days of Ledgestone Announced

Dec 2 2021

Starting December 6th Discraft and Ledgestone are happy to announce the “Twelve Days of Ledgestone.”

Ledgestone Looking for Summer 2022 Interns

Dec 2 2021

The Ledgestone team is looking to hire several interns for the 2022 Summer disc golf season.

"The Toughest Course on Tour"

Sep 14 2021

We've broken down the entire tour schedule and examined exactly how difficult Northwood Black plays compared to the other challenges disc golfers face around the country.

Record-Breaking Donation to Charity

Aug 11 2021

The 2021 Ledgestone Insurance Open blew its previous events out of the water - in total players, added cash, and payouts. But the most impressive record of all was the $200,000 raised for charity.

Previous Champions
  • 2020: Catrina Allen, Ricky Wysocki
  • 2019: Paul McBeth, Paige Pierce
  • 2018: Nate Sexton, Jessica Weese
  • 2017: Josh Anthon, Valarie Jenkins
  • 2016: Catrina Allen, Paul McBeth
  • 2015: Catrina Allen, Simon Lizotte
  • 2014: Catrina Allen, Nikko Locastro
  • 2013: Catrina Allen, Devan Owens
  • 2012: Sarah Hokom, Nikko Locastro
  • 2011: Al Hermosillo
Disc Golf Pro Tour
We Proudly Support
St. Jude Research

Thank You Sponsors