MPO Recap: Round 1

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Who is leading MPO at the 2022 Ledgestone Open?

1st - Gannon Buhr at 11-under par
2nd - Anthony Barela at 9-under par
3rd - Kevin Kiefer at 8-under par

Quote from the leader: “I started the back nine hot with five birdies in a row and it got me to 10-under very quick,” Buhr said. “That way I was able to play a little bit safer and didn’t have many places to take big numbers. I birdied hole 17 and that was a big one for me.”

“This is my fastest round I’ve played. After the Mid-America stuff that happened I told myself to speed up. I honestly think it helped me get in a good rhythm and I’m going to continue to do that. I’m looking for 4 to 6-under-par at Northwood. I’m really just trying to survive. I’d like to pick up a few birdies early and then just survive the really tough back nine.”

Game-changing moment: The Day 1 gallery presence changed everything. Players teeing off later in the day were welcomed by a sizable crowd compared to those playing in the morning. Nerves were visible even by the top contenders. Of the eight players in attendance from last year’s top 10, six of them teed off late in front of the crowd. And of that same group, only Ricky Wysocki is within 5 strokes of the lead.

Standout Stat: The out-of-bounds at Lake Eureka is daunting with three mandatory water carries, 10,000 feet of rope and more water bordering several holes. All 145 players found OB at least once with only two exceptions: Gannon Buhr and Kevin Kiefer. In fact, eight players total had less than two OB penalties.

Highlight of the Day: Ezra Aderhold connected the most impressive of four total aces during Round 1. His powerful hyzer with a Discraft Raptor found chains on hole 12, the famous water tower hole, which is an uphill, 354-foot par 3 with an island green. The feat sent the crowd into a frenzy which echoed across Eureka Lake. Chandler Fry, Emerson Keith and GT Hancock also aced during Round 1.

Eureka, IL Water Tower
The difficult uphill slope up to the OB-laced green of the iconic water tower hole at Lake Eureka. Ezra Aderhold managed to ace hole 12 in Round 1.

2022 Champions

Missy Gannon
Ricky Wysocki

Ledgestone News
MPO Recap: Final Round

Aug 15 2022

Hole 9 was the tipping point for Wysocki to take control of the round. Anthony Barela and Gannon Buhr threw out-of-bounds off the tee and Wysocki calmly laid his 354-foot drive just left of the basket for a drop in birdie.

FPO Recap: Final Round

Aug 14 2022

“This is a tournament I've wanted for so long," Gannon said. "I always felt like this was one I could get, and to finally take it down is a huge accomplishment."

MPO Recap: Round 3

Aug 14 2022

The course record was broken today by Calvin Heimburg. He birdied 11 of the 18 holes to climb up 40 spots and into the top 15.

FPO Recap: Round 3

Aug 13 2022

The wind was clearly a factor in Round 3. After the course averaged 0.4-under par in Round 2, the wind was the prime culprit in raising that average an entire stroke to 0.4-over par.

Previous Champions
  • 2021: C Heimburg/R Wysocki, Paige Pierce
  • 2020: Catrina Allen, Ricky Wysocki
  • 2019: Paul McBeth, Paige Pierce
  • 2018: Nate Sexton, Jessica Weese
  • 2017: Josh Anthon, Valarie Jenkins
  • 2016: Catrina Allen, Paul McBeth
  • 2015: Catrina Allen, Simon Lizotte
  • 2014: Catrina Allen, Nikko Locastro
  • 2013: Catrina Allen, Devan Owens
  • 2012: Sarah Hokom, Nikko Locastro
  • 2011: Al Hermosillo
Disc Golf Pro Tour
We Proudly Support
St. Jude Research

Thank You Sponsors