Ledgestone Open: History

In 2011 Nate Heinold had the crazy idea to run a tournament and have it be called the Ledgestone Insurance Open to promote his growing insurance business. After playing tournaments that summer he realized that he could run a tournament with a small budget and get sponsors on board to give players a great event. The thought came in June and in August of 2011 the tournament came to fruition. Because he had never run a tournament before he decided to make it a non-sanctioned event. The tournament was full ten days before the event and drew 105 people. The event's first year was played at Northwood Park on a 21 hole layout. Al Hermosillo shattered the course record in the first round and the course was subsequently redesigned in 2012. With the success of this tournament Nate decided to go "all in" for 2012 and run a series of events, part of the Ledgestone Insurance Series.

He ran a few more events in the fall of 2011 to begin raising money for the 2012 Series. Throughout 2012 he ran many events throughout the series, culminating with the 2012 Ledgestone Insurance Open. That year's event not only was a large A Tier but was the Series Finale, as players in all divisions won prizes for playing well throughout the year. The year was very exhausting, as Nate also traveled to Charlotte for the World Championship in addition to helping run more than 12 events.

Nate spent the next 6 months doing his real job instead of disc golf and rejuvenated himself in time to prepare for the 2013 A Tier. The 2013 event was a huge success and once again had spectacular weather. 2014 further increased the payout and number of players, and then 2015 was a monster year. The 2015 edition will forever go down as a turning point in the history of the sport, as the event had the largest pro purse in the history of the sport and was a National Tour stop. Big changes happened in 2016, as the Eureka saw a massive overhaul while the event began its transition away from stroke and distance OB. 2016 was also the inaugural year for the DGPT, with Ledgestone being a founding event and member of the DGPT. The event continued to host a record payout year in and year out, and by 2018 Eureka looked a little different again, with stroke and distance OB finally saying its goodbye. In the winter of 2017 Nate and the team began working on Northwood Gold, which debuted for MA1 at the 2019 Ledgestone and then made its Ledgestone debut for MPO at the 2020 event. The 2020 event saw a record donation to St Jude and another $100,000+ pro purse. 2021 and 2022 continued the upward trend for the Ledgestone event, with continuing donations to charity, including the addition of the Paul McBeth Foundation to the charitable list. Ledgestone continued to elevate the pro purses in 2021 and 2022, with added cash that surpassed the event's previous record each year. 2021 saw the addition of Northwood Black to the course schedule, and 2022 saw the event top 2000 competitors for the first time.

See the Ledgestone disc release history

Historical Results

2023 Results

  • MPO Winner: Cole Redalen
  • FPO Winner: Missy Gannon
  • Pro Purse $162,655
  • Tournament Dates: Aug 3rd - 6th
  • Total Players: 2,195
  • Results / Schedule / Sponsors
2023 Logo

2022 Results

  • MPO Winner: Richard Wysocki
  • FPO Winner: Missy Gannon
  • Pro Purse $144,110
  • Tournament Dates: Aug 11th - 14th
  • Total Players: 2,182
  • Results / Schedule / Sponsors
2022 Logo

2021 Results

  • MPO Co-Winners: Calvin Heimburg and Richard Wysocki
  • FPO Winner: Paige Pierce
  • Pro Purse $137,372
  • Tournament Dates: Aug 5th - 8th
  • Total Players: 1,922
  • Results / Schedule / Sponsors
2021 Logo

2020 Results

  • MPO Winner: Richard Wysocki
  • FPO Winner: Catrina Allen
  • Pro Purse $105,755
  • Tournament Dates: Aug 13th - 16th
  • Total Players: 1,337
  • Results / Schedule / Staff / Sponsors
2020 Logo

2019 Results

  • MPO Winner: Paul McBeth
  • FPO Winner: Paige Pierce
  • Pro Purse $77,044
  • Tournament Dates: June 21st - 23rd
  • Total Players: 920
  • Results / Schedule / Staff / Sponsors
2019 Logo

2018 Results

  • MPO Winner: Nate Sexton
  • FPO Winner: Jessica Weese
  • Pro Purse $102,068
  • Tournament Dates: August 9th - 12th
  • Total Players: 968
  • Results / Schedule / Staff / Sponsors
2018 Logo

2017 Results

  • MPO Winner: Josh Anthon
  • FPO Winner: Valarie Jenkins
  • Pro Purse $91,588
  • Tournament Dates: August 3rd - 6th
  • Total Players: 914
  • Results / Schedule / Staff / Sponsors
2017 Logo

2016 Results

2016 Logo

2015 Results

  • MPO Winner: Simon Lizotte
  • FPO Winner: Catrina Allen
  • Pro Purse $117,453
  • Tournament Dates: August 21st - 23rd
  • Total Players: 694
  • Results / Schedule / Flymart / Staff / Sponsors
2015 Logo

2014 Results

  • MPO Winner: Nikko Locastro
  • FPO Winner: Catrina Allen
  • Pro Purse $18,965
  • Tournament Dates: September 12th - 14th
  • Total Players: 222
  • Results / Schedule / Flymart / Sponsors
2014 Logo

2013 Results

  • MPO Winner: Devan Owens
  • FPO Winner: Catrina Allen
  • Pro Purse $14,820
  • Tournament Dates: September 6th - 7th
  • Total Players: 142
  • Results
2013 Logo

2012 Results

  • MPO Winner: Nikko Locastro
  • FPO Winner: Sarah Hokom
  • Pro Purse $15,123
  • Tournament Dates: Septermber 14 - 15
  • Total Players: 191
  • Results
2012 Logo

2011 Results

  • Winner: Al Hermosillo
  • Pro Purse $2,445
  • Tournament Dates: August 20th
  • Total Players: 105
  • Results

2023 Champions

Missy Gannon
Cole Redalen

Ledgestone News
Ledgestone and DGLO Players Pack & Added Cash Announced

Dec 20 2023

This year the tournament will add a Ledgestone record $90,000 of added cash while providing a top level player’s pack to amateur players.

2024 Pro Worlds Logo and Event Details Released

Dec 19 2023

Ledgestone Disc Golf, in coordination with the PDGA, is happy to release the 2024 PDGA Pro Worlds logo and details about the 2024 event.

GRIPeq Back as Presenting Sponsor for Ledgestone

Dec 18 2023

GRIPeq is back as the presenting sponsor for Ledgestone for the 2024 event.

Bushnell Back for 2024

Dec 17 2023

Bushnell’s products provide the data players need to get the most out of their time in the practice field and on the course.

Previous Champions
  • 2022: Missy Gannon, Richard Wysocki
  • 2021: C Heimburg/R Wysocki, Paige Pierce
  • 2020: Catrina Allen, Ricky Wysocki
  • 2019: Paul McBeth, Paige Pierce
  • 2018: Nate Sexton, Jessica Weese
  • 2017: Josh Anthon, Valarie Jenkins
  • 2016: Catrina Allen, Paul McBeth
  • 2015: Catrina Allen, Simon Lizotte
  • 2014: Catrina Allen, Nikko Locastro
  • 2013: Catrina Allen, Devan Owens
  • 2012: Sarah Hokom, Nikko Locastro
  • 2011: Al Hermosillo
Disc Golf Pro Tour
We Proudly Support
St. Jude Research

Thank You Sponsors